Jay Z x ARSENAL

13 Sep

If you’re new to my blog or don’t know me personally, you may not be aware of my Love for Arsenal Football Club.  This being said, Jay Z was recently quoted as saying the following

“Beyonce and I would have to spend much more time in London. Bey knows how much I love sports and has known about my interest in Arsenal for a while.”

“I never want to be a back-seat investor. I want to be on the board, involved in the decision-making… I’m at the stage of my career where I am ready for another investment like this. I have really got into soccer over the last 10 years and I’ve been saying for some time I want a percentage of Arsenal.”

My opinion on the subject, aside from the obvious cool factor of having a Legend of hip hop supporting my beloved Arsenal, is pretty simple.  Jay Z is a businessman, and a sports fanatic.  He has more money than he knows what to do with, and is wanting to add another facet to his Empire.  Setting aside the fact that he is an open Arsenal Supporter, if you had the money to, how many big clubs would you consider buying?  Here’s why I’m with Jay on this one.

  • You’d be hard pressed to find a more consistent club *ahem 10 years on the trot in the Champions League.
  • Despite the situation Football is in right now, Arsenal are still doing well even with the recent building of The Emirates Stadium. They are one of the few big clubs that are NOT losing $100 million+ a year.  Arsenal don’t buy superstars, they make them.
  • They have a youth system so impressive the future ALWAYS looks bright for a side known throughout the world as playing some of the most beautiful football on the planet.
  • ARSENE WENGER

Hi 5 Jay Z

“I’m not a businessman I’m a BUSINESS MANNNN”

2 Responses to “Jay Z x ARSENAL”

  1. Nick September 18, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Where can I watch my beloved Arsenal with fellow gunners in Buenos Aires? I just moved here and figuring out where to watch matches is one of the most pressing dilemmas in my live right now! Obviously more pressing than finding work as quickly as possible – Duhh.

    Anyone got any advice?

    Its good to have Hova on board. Bring some swagga to the board room. We’ll see what happens. Arsenal may be hesitant to allow any room to change our business model, which could be an impediment.

    • Will September 20, 2010 at 2:23 am #

      The good thing about living in Buenos Aires is you will get most of the games coming on your basic cable tv channels. Most of the Arsenal games are covered and I usually watch them at home.

      Surprisingly there are not enough places to watch the EPL in BsAs. The only place I have really heard mentioned more than once is Gibraltar in San Telmo. Most places will have the games on, but finding a pub atmosphere to watch them will be hard to find. Suerte my fellow gooner!

Leave a Reply

